Rival Sons have announced their new album, Darkfighter, and released the single “Nobody Wants To Die”

Rival Sons Nobody Wants To Die
Press Pictures – Copyright : Robby Klein

Rockers Rival Sons have announced a brand new studio album, DARKFIGHTER produced by Dave Cobb and due for release on March 10 via Low Country Sound. To accompany the album announcement, the band have released the first single from the album, “Nobody Wants to Die”, as well as the video clip, directed by Eli Sokhn.

About the single, singer Jay Buchanan said:

“You live your life knowing that the sword of Damocles is hanging over your head by a thread. You’re fully aware of the impermanence of your existence, but you can’t think about it all the time — or it’ll fuck your life up. I used to work in a mortuary as a service advisor for a few years, driving and opening the hearses. I’d attend three funerals per day. Sometimes, they would be filled over capacity. Other times, it would just be me, a priest, and a hole in the ground. It doesn’t matter who you are; the great equalizer is coming. I was thinking of this because the music sounded like pursuit.”

Talking about the creation of the album, he adds :

DARKFIGHTER represents the cultural mitosis of isolation, the Pandemic, and the national fabric of the US getting looser and looser. When I say ‘Cultural Mitosis,’ there are lines being drawn constantly. We’re so divided, and you can’t step over the lines without offending someone. It certainly informed my writing. We recognized a responsibility to put a good word on people’s ears so there’s a good word coming back on their tongues too. We missed the joy of the live show and that magical interaction. When it was taken from us, that made me want to sing about topics that were important. There are strong themes on this record of loss of identity, preservation of joy, and beholding light and shape again.”

View the artwork and tracklist for DARKFIGHTER below, as well as the official music video for “Nobody Wants to Die.” Pre-order or save the album here.


01. Mirrors
02. Nobody Wants to Die
03. Bird in the Hand
04. Bright Light
05. Rapture
06. Guillotine
07. Horses Breath
08. Darkside

Related posts

Nova Twins release new single : Puzzles


Grandson unveils its new song Eulogy and announces a huge world tour


Through The Void announce last shows for 2022


Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More